14 May 2015
Media Release - #2015025, 2015

In the role of: Assistant Treasurer [23 December 2014 - 21 September 2015]

Appointments to the Board of Taxation

The Government is pleased to announce three new appointments to the Board of Taxation, Mr Neville Mitchell, Ms Karen Payne and Mrs Ann-Maree Wolff.

The Government is also pleased to announce the appointment of Mr John Emerson AM as the Deputy Chair of the Board, following his significant contribution over several years as a member of the Board.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body charged with contributing a business and broader community perspective in improving the design of taxation laws and their operation.

The new appointments will put the Board in a strong position to support the national debate about the future of the tax system being conducted through the Government’s Tax White Paper process.

Mr Mitchell brings extensive business experience as Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary of Cochlear Limited since its listing in 1995.  He is currently the President of the Group of 100, the peak body for Australia’s senior finance executives from large private and public business enterprises.

Ms Payne has extensive experience in complex tax-related matters across the financial services, property, mining, energy and utilities sectors.  She is currently a partner in Minter Ellison's tax practice.  Ms Payne has previously assisted the Board as an expert panel member on a number of reviews, and is a member of the Tax Committees of the Law Council of Australia and Property Council of Australia.

Mrs Wolff brings long standing experience in senior tax roles within the mining industry.  She is currently the Asia Pacific Head of Tax for Rio Tinto.  Mrs Wolff has been extensively involved in tax policy development in her roles on the Executive Committee for the Corporate Tax Association and Tax Committees for the Business Council of Australia and Minerals Council of Australia.

Mr Emerson has over 40 years’ experience in tax law and is widely recognised as a specialist in the tax and other laws applicable to charities.  He is currently a consultant at Herbert Smith Freehills.  Mr Emerson has made a significant contribution to the Board since his appointment in 2007.  He was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia for ‘services to law and the community, particularly through the provision of advice and not-for-profit organisations and the development of public administration reform to encourage philanthropy in Australia.’

The appointment of Mr Mitchell, Ms Payne and Mrs Wolff is for a period of three years.  The reappointment of Mr Emerson is for a period of two years.