21 August 2015
Media Release - #2015040, 2015

In the role of: Assistant Treasurer [23 December 2014 - 21 September 2015]

Wine Equalisation Tax Rebate Discussion Paper released and Consultative Group appointed

Today the Government released the Wine Equalisation Tax (WET) Rebate Discussion Paper.

The wine industry is an important contributor to the Australian economy and an important part of many communities, particularly regional communities. The Discussion Paper provides an overview of the Australian wine industry and raises issues facing the industry, including the operation of the WET Rebate.

The WET Rebate was introduced in 2004 to support Australian wine producers. Since then, the amount of WET rebates claimed has increased, and the circumstances in which the rebate is claimed have extended beyond what was originally intended.

The Government’s objective is for a better tax system that delivers taxes that are lower, simpler and fairer. With this in mind, the Discussion Paper seeks specific feedback on the operation of the WET Rebate.

The Government has also established the WET Rebate Consultative Group, which will consider submissions and provide advice to the Government later this year on options for reform. The Consultative Group includes senior representatives from industry who have specialist knowledge and are broadly representative of Australia’s wine making regions. It will be chaired by a senior official from the Treasury.

The Consultative Group members are:

  • Mr Russell Campbell - The Treasury (Chair)
  • Mr Tony D’Aloisio AM – Wine Makers Federation of Australia
  • Mr Darren De Bortoli - De Bortoli Wines
  • Ms Rebecca Duffy - Holm Oak Vineyards
  • Mr Nigel Gallop – Fraser Gallop Estate
  • Mr Tom Harvey – McLaren Vale Group Wine and Tourism Association
  • Mr Robert Hill-Smith – Yalumba
  • Mr Larry Jorgensen – Wines of Western Australia
  • Mr Anthony Murphy – Trentham Estate Wines
  • Mr Roger Sharp – Treasury Wine Estates

The Discussion Paper and information about the Consultative Group can be accessed on the Treasury website. Submissions close on 11 September 2015.